Things I’m looking forward to in April

It’s April, and finally feels like spring in Numazu! I hope everyone else is as excited for spring as I am!

Lately I’ve been finding myself feeling a bit lazy and apathetic. I love living in Japan most of the time, but there’s periods of time where I start to feel down, and in turn become sort of listless.

I try to overcome this as best as I can on my own by constantly reminding myself of positive things and forcing myself to keep busy. This method obviously doesn’t work for everyone, but it’s something I try to actively keep up with in an attempt to prevent myself from hitting another low point.

When I start to feel this way I sometimes try to think of all the things I’m looking forward to in the future, and write them down. I started making my list yesterday,  before realizing this might be something nice to write about in my blog every month. Even though it’s already April 5th there’s still so much to look forward to this month.

So, without further ado, here is what I am looking forward to most during the rest of April!

Attack_on_Titan_Season_2_Official_Poster
It’s here, it’s really here!

Shingeki no Kyojin Season Two

After years of pain and false hopes, and beginning to think that this moment might never come, Shingeki no Kyojin (Attack on Titan in English, or SNK for short) has finally had its second season debut. I was half afraid that its April 1st premier date might mean it was some kind of horrible prank. But it’s real, and SNK season two is finally here!

As a rule I normally don’t usually watch anime while it airs. That being said I’ll be making an exception to that rule for SNK. I’ve waited too long for this. I thought episode one of the season was great, and I’m hoping the rest of it will be equally as good.

84617l
Most recent Kabukibu promo photo

Kabukibu

I promise in the future to limit myself to one anime a month for these, but for this month I have two. Anyone who has had to listen to me talk about how much I’m looking forward to this show is probably thinking “of course”. I decided that I would watch one more show while it’s running this season, and after pursuing the list of upcoming shows I settled on this one.

Kabukibu, which will have its first episode on April 7th, is about a newly formed high school kabuki club. Kabuki is a traditional form of Japanese theater. It’s not a usual theme in anime, and I’m interested in seeing what this show will do with it. As a school anime it looks like it will be a relaxed series, with a somewhat simple plot, that I can sit back and enjoy easily. It’s characters designs are by CLAMP, and so far the animation looks nice. I may be setting my hopes a bit high, but I’m excited to watch this and see what it’s all about.

Tokyo Scavenger Hunt

Shizuoka AJET (Association of JETs), which I am president of, holds a scavenger hunt every year. Previously the event was put on by “Block 4” (Tokyo, Kanagawa, Chiba, Shizuoka, and Yamanashi) JETs together, but in the past few years it’s been hosted by ShizAJET. I enjoyed being a judge for last year’s event, and am looking forward to doing it again this year.

17757968_10212426429157067_971517414_n
My desk at work. I promise I didn’t buy all of those Tsum Tsums on my own.

New School Year

I’m going a bit stir crazy at work lately. I have had no classes, and have had very few other responsibilities for a while now. But, in just a few days the new school year will begin, and I’ll have plenty more to do again. I like new school years because they’re a great time to think of new goals and start implementing changes that I’ve wanted to make to my lessons, without things being disrupted.

Keio University’s “Introduction to Japanese Subcultures”

Keio University will have a 100% free course on Japanese subcultures on FutureLearn. This course won’t count for any sort of credits toward anything, but I like to study. Japanese subcultures in particular is one of my favorite topics to study, so I’m excited. For anyone else who is interested, the course starts on April 17th.

11091228_10206283963119255_1612846363080773450_n

Sakura

Of course, the highlight of any April in Japan is cherry blossom season. It’s by far one of the best times to be here. The blooming of the tiny pale pink flowers signifies that spring has finally come. It’s a time for new beginnings. The flowers in my area are not yet fully in bloom, but they’re just starting to make their long-awaited appearance.

Spring Cleaning

Most Japanese homes don’t have central heating. This means that during winter my movement within my home is usually limited to the areas that can be reached by my aircon (which doubles as a heater). This doesn’t make it easy to find motivation to clean. I’m determined to do some serious spring cleaning now that I no longer feel like I’m going to freeze to death if I walk around my apartment without a million layers of clothing on.

There is more that I’m looking forward to this month, but I don’t want this list to get too long. Still, I think the six things I wrote down look like they make for a pretty nice April!

Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

